Banner Image

Social Work: Evidence-Based Practice

Menu

Find Print Books

Find Ebooks

Find Reference Books

Find Articles


Evidence-Based Practice

Literature Review

Field / Career Information

APA / Grammar Help

Contact OCLS

Phone:       800-521-1848

Email:         ocls@indwes.edu

Chat:          Click here

Online

Request:      Click here

What Are Some Good Online Resources for Evidence-Based Practice?

California Evidence-Based Clearinghouse for Child Welfare (CEBC)

The CEBC provides child welfare professionals with easy access to vital information about selected child welfare related programs. Each program is reviewed and rated utilizing the CEBC Scientific Rating scale to determine the level of evidence for the program.
The programs are also rated on a Relevance to Child Welfare Rating Scale.

The Campbell Collaboration: Library

The Campbell Library of Systematic Reviews provides access to systematic reviews in the areas of education, criminal justice and social welfare. The library is a peer-reviewed source of reliable evidence of the effects of interventions.

Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence

Blueprints for Healthy Youth Development is a project of the Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence identifying evidence-based programs effective in reducing antisocial behavior and promoting healthy youth development. These model "blueprint" programs have proven effective in reducing adolescent violent crime, aggression, delinquency, and substance abuse.

The Community Guide (Centers for Disease Control & Prevention)

The Guide to Community Preventive Services (Community Guide) filters scientific literature on specific health problems. The Task Force on Community Preventive Services makes recommendations for the use of various interventions based on the evidence gathered in the rigorous and systematic scientific reviews of published studies.

EBP Substance Abuse Database

The EBP Substance Abuse Database is a database of evidence-based interventions for treating substance use disorders. Each record in the database includes a description of the intervention and its implementation, populations for which it has been shown to be effective, references to supporting literature, the availability of instructional manuals, and author/developer notes.

The Evaluation Center’s EBP Metabase

The Evaluation Center’s EBP Metabase is a searchable database of meta-analyses related of mental health interventions. It allows the user to find an intervention related to outcomes of interest and review the evidence of effectiveness.

Matrix of Children’s Evidence-Based Interventions

The NRI Center for Mental Health Quality and Accountability synthesizes key literature reviews summarizing the effectiveness of prevention, intervention, and/or treatment programs that can be applied to child and adolescent mental health services.

National Cancer Institute: Research-Tested Intervention Programs

This website offers research-tested intervention programs and products, review summaries and usefulness/integrity scores for each program, materials to adapt for use in your own program.

National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP)

NREPP is a searchable database of interventions for the prevention and treatment of mental and substance use disorders. SAMHSA has developed this resource to help people, agencies, and organizations implement programs and practices in their communities.

Preventing Drug Abuse among Children and Adolescents: Research-Based Drug Abuse Prevention Programs

The National Institute of Drug Abuse presents examples of research-based programs featuring a variety of strategies proven to be effective. Each program was developed as part of a research study, which demonstrated that over time youth who participated in the programs had better outcomes than those who did not.

SAMHSA: A Guide To Evidence-Based Practices (EBP) on The Web

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration provides this guide to websites that contain information about interventions to prevent and/or treat mental and substance use disorders. The sites included offer specific evidence-based practices (EBPs) or provide comprehensive reviews of research findings.

Social Programs That Work

Social Programs That Work, sponsored by the Coalition for Evidence-Based Policy, provides findings from randomized controlled trials that, in their view, have important policy implications due to the effectiveness of social interventions studied.

Suicide Prevention Research Center: Best Practice Registry

The purpose of the Best Practice Registry is to identify, review, and disseminate information about best practices that address specific objectives of the National Strategy for Suicide Prevention.

National Guidelines

National Guideline Clearinghouse

Searching for Articles in IWU databases

Evidence-Based Articles

Searching for articles with content related to evidence-based practice is possible in any database.

Enter your search terms in separate search boxes, and enter "evidence-based" in one search box.