Banner Image

Political Science: Article Databases

Contact OCLS

Phone:       800-521-1848

Email:         ocls@indwes.edu

Chat:          Click here

Online

Request:      Click here

Find Articles in IWU Databases that Cover Virtually All Areas of Political Science

Each database below offers unique publications covering political science, including full-text articles or links to full-text articles. If the full text of an article does not appear in a database as an html or pdf document, look for the "Linked Full Text" link to see whether it is available in another database or in print at the library (may be requested via ocls@indwes.edu). Articles not available at the library may also be requested through interlibrary loan.

 

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete offers a broad collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed, full-text journals covering government and public affairs, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study.

CREDO Reference

CREDO Reference is an online reference collection. It contains over 900 online encyclopedias, subject dictionaries, biographical sources, and reference tools. Think of it as an academic substitute for Wikipedia.

GVRL

Gale Virtual Reference Library offers an online collection of reference ebooks including encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. The collection contains the following subjects: business, education, history, government, law, multicultural studies, American and world affairs , religion, and science.

Global Road Warrior Country Studies

Global Road Warrior covers 175 countries of the world, providing content in topic areas related to society and culture, government, travel, communications, business, trade, marketing, and security. Currently, the database offers 1,750+ country maps and 12,000+ photographs. This resource is essentially an online encyclopedia covering the countries of the world.

JSTOR

JSTOR contains the full-text of more than 2,300 journals from 1,000 publishers, with publication dates ranging from 1665 to 2015 (for certain titles). Journals are available in more than 60 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and mathematics.

LexisNexis

LexisNexis Academic contains a variety of full-text resources including: domestic and foreign newspapers, other news sources related to general topics, company and industry information, political and governmental sources, federal and state court decisions and law reviews. Also included are biographies, directories, almanac, quotations, and basic statistics on states and countries.

Military & Government Collection

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those researching military and governmental topics. The Military & Government Collection provides the cover-to-cover full text of 287 journals and periodicals and 245 pamphlets. It also includes full-text country reports from CountryWatch.

Military & Intelligence Database

TheMilitary and Intelligence Database Collectionprovides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.

PAIS International

PAIS International provides coverage of public affairs, government and political topics, public and social policies, and international relations. Major areas of coverage include: economic conditions, education, energy resources and policy, health and human rights, international relations, labor conditions and policy, social conditions, and civil rights.

ProQuest Political Science

The Political Science Database is a deep and broad resource that thoroughly covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

WPSA provides citations and abstracts covering political science, as well as international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Major areas of coverage include: developing nations, disarmament, economic policy, electoral systems, government, political systems, military policy, political behavior and psychology, public administration, security and defense.