This is the "Bible Dictionaries" page of the "Biblical Research/Exegesis" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

LEWIS A. JACKSON LIBRARY

Lewis A. Jackson Library
 

Biblical Research/Exegesis  

Guide to using Library Resources to conduct Biblical Exegesis
Last Updated: Oct 14, 2014 URL: http://indwes.libguides.com/exegesis Print Guide

Bible Dictionaries Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is a Bible Dictionary?

A Bible Dictionary (or Bible Encyclopedia) provides important facts and background information regarding a biblical topic.  Depending on the particluar dictionary, entries contain information about:

  • people (Abraham, Mary, Paul)
  • places (Jerusalem, Ephesus)
  • events (destruction of the temple, Jerusalem Council)
  • topics (persecution, family, hospitality)
  • books of the Bible (1 Peter, Galatians)
  • theological concepts (atonement, sanctification)

Theological Dictionaries: Focus on the theological meaning of concepts and words from the Bible.  Sometimes entries are listed in Greek or Hebrew.  You can use a Strong's Concordance or Interlinear Bible to identify the word if you do not know the original language.

 

Search Catalog

How to Find Bible Dictionaries in the Library Catalog:

Do a "Keyword" search for "bible dictionaries"

 

Recommended Dictionaries


Cover Art
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible
Call Number: REFERENCE 220.3 IN8S v.1-5
ISBN: 0687054273

Cover Art
Dictionary of the Old Testament - Wisdom, Poetry & Writings
Call Number: REFERENCE 223.003 D561
ISBN: 9780830817832

Cover Art
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels
Call Number: REFERENCE 226.03 D561
ISBN: 0830817778

Indiana Wesleyan University - A Christian College and University
© 2012 Indiana Wesleyan University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip