Skip to main content Banner Image

Using Chicago Style: Wesley Seminary Students: Formatting Your Paper

How to format your paper

The Chicago Manual of Style provides formatting information for a manuscript, but does not address formatting of student papers. This page provides basic information about components/format of the CMS Notes-Bibliography system.


For additional help and examples, use the Chicago Manual of Style Online (log in required for Off Campus access).


Always find out whether your instructor has specific requirements when you are writing a paper. Basic elements of a paper using Chicago style are as follows:

  • A title page that contains:
    • the title of your paper
    • your name
    • the class, the professor, and the date.
  • Body of the paper.
  • Footnotes on pages where references occur OR an Endnotes page on a new page after the body of the paper.
  • A Bibliography. Off Campus Library Services has been told that Wesley Seminary students will use the Notes and Bibliography Style (footnotes on pages and a Bibliography following the paper's body).


We recommend students look closely at Western Oregon University's Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition information, at https://research.wou.edu/chicago 

Under the Home button, click on Paper Formatting.


If you have questions about Chicago Style, please contact Off Campus Library Services (OCLS) at Indiana Wesleyan University. Call 1-800-521-1848 or email
ocls@indwes.edu

Margins, Spacing, Etc.

Margins, Indents

  • Leave uniform margins of at least 1 inch (2.54 cm.) at the top, bottom, left and right of every page.
  • Indent all paragraphs in the body of the paper 1/2".
  • Indent notes (footnotes or endnotes) 1/2".
  • Use a hanging indent of 1/2" for Bibliography entries.
  • Block indent long quotations 1/2".

Spacing

  • Double-space the body of the paper.
  • Double-space block quotes.
  • Single-space each note (whether using endnotes or footnotes) and bibliography, but double-space between each entry.
Fonts: The Chicago Manual of Style does not specify a particular font. We suggest using a readable serif font, like Times New Roman, 12 pt.