The 181-foot covered timbered bridge, built in 1877 and restored in 1999, spans the Mississinewa River at Matthews and is the last remaining covered bridge in Grant County. It was swept from its abutments by the great 1913 flood, and floated a quarter mile downstream. It was later returned to its abutments by horses.
Dine in this beautifully restored historical house that is on the National Historic Register. Luncheon menu includes a selection of soups, sandwiches, sides, salads, and specialties. Scrumptious desserts include our famous homemade pies, apple dumplings, and a variety of cheesecakes. Lunch available daily. Visit Peggy’s Boutique on the second floor to shop for special gift items.
Tour this beautifully renovated 1840s National Register property with ties to the Underground Railroad. The Jenkins House is a ‘Hoosier Homestead’ and is listed on the ‘Indiana Historic Sites and Structures’ . Presently the house serves as the Clubhouse for the Club Run Golf Course, including sandwich and lunch fare.
The Mississinewa Battlefield was the site of the first victory of the United States Army during the War of 1812, on December 17-18, 1812. A 600-man mounted force led by Lt. Col. John B. Campbell attacked and destroyed four British-allied Indian villages. Site of the annual Mississinewa 1812 living history event.
The first log cabin in Jonesboro, purchased by Obadiah Jones in 1834. Obadiah Jones founded the town of Jonesboro and lived on Main Street in this cabin. On display in the Jonesboro Park, restored and maintained today by the Jonesboro Historical Society. Site of the annual Old Settlers’ Day Festival.
International in scope, the Quilters Hall of Fame was founded by Hazel Carter of Vienna, Virginia to celebrate and document the lives of those who have made outstanding contributions to the world of quilting. View unique quilts in the beautiful surroundings of Marie Webster’s restored Colonial Revival house. The Quilters Hall of Fame is housed in the Marie Webster House, which was designated a National Historic Landmark by the National Park Service in 1993. Explore the studio where Marie conducted her quilting business and wrote her landmark book in the early 1900s.