Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OCLS Tutorials: Criminal Justice & Political Science Guide

 

 


Criminal Justice & Political Science Guide Header

 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE & POLITICAL SCIENCE GUIDE

 


 

Welcome to the Criminal Justice & Political Science Guide!  

 

To navigate to the different sections use the tabs above. 

 

You can bookmark this page for quick access.

 

 

 

Books

 

Find Print Books in the Library Catalog

Find eBooks in the Library Catalog

eBook Databases

Reference Books

Available Books and Reference Books

 

Databases & Journals

 

OCLS Databases

Journals

Journal Titles Search

 

 

Websites

 

Criminal Justice Websites

Political Science Websites

 

APA Style & Grammar Help

 

Academic Writer

APA Style

Grammarly

 

OCLS & Research Help

 

Introduction to OCLS

Research Help

Find Print Books in the Library Catalog 

 

Find Print Books:

  • Use the Advanced Search to limit your search to only print books.
  • Type in your search terms using the search tips below. 
  • Under Location, choose Circulating Collection to locate books you can check out.
  • Click Submit
  • Click on the book title to open its record and click Request Item to request the book be mailed to you. If the book is a Reference book and can only be used in the library, contact OCLS and request sections of the book to be scanned and emailed to you. 

 

Search Tips:

  • Use quotes ("criminal justice") to find a specific phrase.
  • Use an asterisk (crim* - crime, criminal, etc.) (prison* - prisoner, prisons, etc.) to find different work endings
  • Use similar terms, separated by OR (crime OR prison) to locate sources with BOTH terms. 

 

Screen shot of a search with the tips listed above

 

 

 

Type your search in the box below! The catalog search will pop up in a new window.

Or click Advanced Search to bring up the catalog Advance Search in a new window. 

Search the Library Catalog for Books, Ebooks or Media
 
   
Go to:    Advanced Search   |   Mobile Catalog

 

 

 

 

 

Find eBooks in the Library Catalog

 

Find eBooks: 

  • Use the Advanced Search to limit your search to only eBooks. 
  • Type in your search terms.
  • Under Location, choose Electronic Books to locate all IWU eBook collections. 
  • Click Submit

 

Screen shot of search directions above to find eBooks.

 

 

 

Click Advanced Search to bring up the catalog Advance Search in a new window. 

Or type your search in the box below! The catalog search will pop up in a new window.

 

 

Search the Library Catalog for Books, Ebooks or Media
   
Go to:    Advanced Search   |   Mobile Catalog

 

 

 

 

 

eBook Databases

 

You can search our eBook database collections below individually.

 

Links with a IWU Logo require an IWU login.

 

Ebook Central IWU login required. Usable by IWU students, staff and faculty only.

A multidisciplinary database covering all academic areas including political science and law. Over 52,000 ebooks are available from over 150 publishers.

 

EBSCO eBooks IWU login required. Usable by IWU students, staff and faculty only.

This collection contains more than 32,000 multidisciplinary e-books from more than 90 of the best university presses. The collection offers basic introductory texts to high-level research materials.

 

 

 

 

Reference Books

 

You may ask, "Why would I use an encyclopedia or reference book for my research?".

Start your research by scanning a reference book to generate ideas about how to narrow or search for your topic.

You'll find keywords and related topics for your search strategy. You might even create an initial outline.

Reference articles usually offer additional resources in a bibliography you can use to track down more information!

 

Links with a IWU Logo require an IWU login.

 

Credo Reference IWU login required. Usable by IWU students, staff and faculty only.

Credo Reference offers hundreds of full-text reference books across all academic disciplines, including criminal justice and political science. Search for your topic to discover articles, or browse the area of "social science" to view the available reference books in your interest area. 

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library IWU login required. Usable by IWU students, staff and faculty only.

Gale Virtual Reference Library provides thousands of full-text articles in various areas of criminal justice and political science. Search all reference books using the box at the top of the screen, or click on a subject area in order to search only the books in that area.

 

 

 

 

 

Available Books and Reference Books

 

Criminal Justice

Links with a IWU Logo require an IWU login. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Databases & Journals

 

OCLS Databases

Journals

Journal Titles Search

 

 

 

 


 

OCLS Databases

Each database below indexes unique journals related to criminal justice and political science and provides either abstracts or full text articles. If the full text option is missing, look for Check Online Availability or Check Full Text Finder for Full Text to see whether it is available in another database or in print at the library. 

 

For a complete list of criminal justice and political science databases that are available through OCLS, visit OCLS Criminal Justice databases and OCLS Political Science databases 

 

Links with a IWU Logo require an IWU login.

 

 

Academic Search Complete IWU login required. Usable by IWU students, staff and faculty only.

An international database covering communication, culture, education, ethnic and racial studies, religion, sociology, and more. Includes over 200,000 full-text, scholarly articles related to criminal justice and political science. 

 

Criminal Justice IWU login required. Usable by IWU students, staff and faculty only.

A database offering research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, crime trends, and criminal litigation.

 

Homeland Security Digital Library IWU login required. Usable by IWU students, staff and faculty only.

A document library covering security policy, strategy, and management sponsored by the Department of Homeland Security. Subjects include border security, terrorism, piracy, cyber-security, electronic surveillance, gangs, and school violence.

 

JSTOR IWU login required. Usable by IWU students, staff and faculty only.

JSTOR contains the full-text of more than 2,300 journals from 1,000 publishers, with publication dates ranging from 1665 to 2015 (for certain titles). Journals are available in more than 60 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and mathematics.

 

NexisUni IWU login required. Usable by IWU students, staff and faculty only.

Nexis Uni contains a variety of full-text resources including domestic and foreign newspapers, other news sources related to general topics, company and industry information, political and governmental sources, federal and state court decisions, and law reviews. Also included are biographies, directories, almanacs, quotations, and basic statistics on states and countries.

 

Military & Government Collection IWU login required. Usable by IWU students, staff and faculty only.

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those researching military and governmental topics. The Military & Government Collection provides the cover-to-cover full text of 287 journals and periodicals and 245 pamphlets. It also includes full-text country reports from CountryWatch.

 

Military & Intelligence Database IWU login required. Usable by IWU students, staff and faculty only.

The Military and Intelligence Database Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.

 

PAIS International IWU login required. Usable by IWU students, staff and faculty only.

PAIS International provides coverage of public affairs, government and political topics, public and social policies, and international relations. Major areas of coverage include economic conditions, education, energy resources and policy, health and human rights, international relations, labor conditions and policy, social conditions, and civil rights.

 

ProQuest Political Science IWU login required. Usable by IWU students, staff and faculty only.

The Political Science Database is a deep and broad resource that thoroughly covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.

 

 

 

 

Journal Titles Search

 

Are you looking for a specific article? If you know the journal or magazine the article is in, you can use the Journal Titles Search to see if OCLS has access to the journal or magazine. 

 

The Journal Titles Search can be found on the OCLS homepage under Key Links

 

 

Type your search in the box below! The Journal Titles Search will pop up in a new window.

 

Journal Titles

 

 

 

 

Criminal Justice Websites

 

The following is a brief list of suggested Criminal Justice Websites.

These sites are recommended but are outside of IWU's control and maintenance.

 

Groups & Associations 

 

Resources

 

 

 

Political Science Websites

 

 

The following is a brief list of suggested Political Science Websites.

These sites are recommended but are outside of IWU's control and maintenance.

 

Groups & Associations 

 

Christianity 

 

Articles 

 

Barometers

 

Data and Tools

 

Magazines & News

 

General Political Science Links with an American & International Focus

 

 

APA Style & Grammar Help 

 

Academic Writer

APA Style

Grammarly

 

 

 

 


 

Academic Writer 

 

Academic Writer is the official APA writing platform. You can concentrate on writing the content of your paper and Academic Writer automatically formats your papers in APA Style format. 

Visit the Academic Writer Guide for on-demand tutorials to help you sign up and get started! 

 

 

 

 

APA Style

 

Your program requires you to use APA Style 7th Edition. 

Visit the APA Style Guide for the APA 7th Edition Paper Template and the OCLS APA 7e Guide! 

 

 

 

Grammarly 

 

Grammarly with Premium features is available to IWU students for free. There are specific steps to sign up or you will be charged a fee.

Visit the Grammarly Guide to learn how to sign up and how to use Grammarly to check your papers for grammar and spelling errors. 

 

 

 

 

OCLS & Research Help

 

Introduction to OCLS

Research Help

 

 

 

Introduction to OCLS

(2:03)    

This video is a brief introduction to IWU Off Campus Library Services.

 

 

 

 

Research Help

 

Do you need help with a specific research topic? Contact Off Campus Library Services and request a Personalized Search Plan!

 

Personalized Search Plans (PSPs) tell you where to go, what to do, and how to do it. Your PSP will suggest the best online database(s) and search term(s) to use. Depending on what kinds of information you need, your PSP might help you to find appropriate print books, e-books, or journal articles.


Each PSP includes step-by-step directions to find trusted sources for your assignments and customized to your needs.

 

To request your Personalized Search Plan, fill out an Online Request for Services Form and let us know your topic and what kinds of information you need – books, e-books, journal articles, websites; or, if you need peer reviewed or research-based information. 

 

PSP requests are answered within one (1) business daynot including weekends. Requests that are received by noon on Friday will be answered that same day.  

 

OCLS provides limited service on Saturday and is closed Sunday and all university holidays and holiday weekends, so we encourage you to ask for your Personalized Search Plan early in your workshop weeks whenever possible.


Hours 
Mon-Thur: 8:00 am - 8:00 pm (ET)
Friday: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm (ET)
Saturday: 9:30 am - 2:00 pm (ET)
Sunday: Closed


Librarians may not be available all open hours, but will answer ASAP.

 

 

1-800-521-1848

 

 ocls.indwes.edu