Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OCLS Tutorials: Introduction to Research

 

 


Introduction to Research Guide Header

 

 

 

 

INTRODUCTION TO RESEARCH GUIDE

 


 

This guide will get you started with the research process!  

 

To navigate to the different sections use the tabs above.

You can bookmark this page for quick access. 

 

 

What is Research?

 

Research Paper Process: Step-by-Step

Forming a Research Question

Ask Open-Ended Thoughtful Questions

How to Write a Literature Review

 

Finding Books

 

Find Print Books in the Library Catalog

Find eBooks in the Library Catalog

eBook Databases

Reference Books

 

Finding Journal Articles

 

OCLS Databases

OCLS QUICKsearch & Journal Titles Search

 

Need More Ideas?

 

Reference Books

Research Question

Idea Generator

 

APA Style & Grammar Help

 

Academic Writer

APA Style

Grammarly

 

APA Style & Grammar Help

 

Academic Writer

APA Style

Grammarly

 

Chicago Style Help

 

Chicago Manual of Style

 

OCLS & Research Help

 

Introduction to OCLS

Research Help

Research Paper Process: Step by Step

 

1. Develop your Research Question.  You may want to think about:

What research is and what research is not and the kind of research paper you will write.
Ways you can choose a topic for your research paper.
Your paper's audience: Who you are writing to and why you are writing to them.
Whether or not you understand the assignment.

 

2. Decide what type of information you will use in your research.  

Will you need print or e-books?
Academic Journal articles?
Magazine or Newspaper articles?

Web sites or other multimedia?

 

3. Determine the kinds of information you will need.  

Are you looking for current or past (historical) information?  
Will you need Primary Sources or Secondary Sources?  
Should you use Popular, Trade, or Scholarly Journals?
How will you evaluate the information you find for accuracy, audience, bias, or purpose? 

 

4. Start the process of writing your paper. 

Pre-Writing: Get your paper off to a good start.
Think about the entire Writing Process.

Write your Thesis Statement.
Develop an Outline.
Start your First Draft.
Proofread your First Draft.
Revise your Draft using the Revising Process.
Proofread and Revise again.

 

5. Avoid Academic Dishonesty and Plagiarism by citing and referencing the sources you use.  

Indiana Wesleyan University uses APA Style, a set of writing and citation rules developed by the American Psychological Association for all of its academic programs. Check out the APA Style & Grammar Help tab of this guide for more information. 

The Wesley Seminary requires that papers be written using The Chicago Manual of Style, a set of writing and citation rules. Check out the Chicago Style Helps tab of this guide for more information. 

 

Learn more about plagiarism with the Plagiarism and the IWU Student slides.

 

 

 

 

 

Forming a Research Question

 

Formulating a research question pyramid

 

 

Ask Open-Ended Thoughtful Questions

 

Good research explores a question without an easy answer. Narrowing a topic to a primary question will get your research off to the right start.
 
Questions require answers.
A topic is too broad to cover thoroughly, but a question has an answer.
 
 

Topic

Question

The Influence of Drugs on Crime

Could the legalization of less harmful drugs like marijuana reduce crime in the U.S.?

Abortion

Are laws requiring waiting, counseling or sonograms effective in reducing abortions?

Sports Injuries

Why do heat exhaustion deaths occur and how can they best be avoided? 

Working Women

In what fields have women achieved the greatest equality and through what means?

 
A question is a way of evaluating the evidence. 
A clearly stated question helps you decide what information is needed in your paper and what is not relevant.
 
 
An open-ended question calls for real research and thinking.
A question with no easy answer makes research and writing more meaningful to both you and your audience. Your research may then solve a problem or contribute to the field of knowledge.
 

 

 

How to Write a Literature Review

(6:56)  

 

 

 

Find Print Books in the Library Catalog 

 

Find Print Books:

  • Use the Advanced Search to limit your search to only print books.
  • Type in your search terms using the search tips below. 
  • Under Location, choose Circulating Collection to locate books you can check out.
  • Click Submit
  • Click on the book title to open its record and click Request Item to request the book be mailed to you. 

 

Search Tips:

  • Use quotes ("social media") to find a specific phrase.
  • Use similar terms, separated by OR (social media OR social networking) to locate sources with BOTH terms. 

 

Screen shot of search for print book about social media OR social networking

 

 

 

Type your search in the box below! The catalog search will pop up in a new window.

Or click Advanced Search to bring up the catalog Advance Search in a new window. 

Search the Library Catalog for Books, Ebooks or Media
 
   
Go to:    Advanced Search   |   Mobile Catalog

 

 

 

 

 

Find eBooks in the Library Catalog

 

Find eBooks: 

  • Use the Advanced Search to limit your search to only eBooks. 
  • Type in your search terms.
  • Under Location, choose Electronic Books to locate all IWU eBook collections. 
  • Click Submit

 

Screen shot of search directions above to find eBooks.

 

 

Click Advanced Search to bring up the catalog Advance Search in a new window. 

Or type your search in the box below! The catalog search will pop up in a new window.

 

 

Search the Library Catalog for Books, Ebooks or Media
   
Go to:    Advanced Search   |   Mobile Catalog

 

 

 

 

 

eBook Databases

 

You can search our eBook database collections below individually.

 

Links with a IWU Logo require an IWU login.

 

Ebook Central IWU login required. Usable by IWU students, staff and faculty only.

A multidisciplinary database covering all academic areas including social work and its subject specialties. Over 52,000 ebooks are available from over 150 publishers.

 

EBSCO eBooks IWU login required. Usable by IWU students, staff and faculty only.

This collection contains more than 32,000 multidisciplinary e-books from more than 90 of the best university presses. The collection offers basic introductory texts to high-level research materials.

 

Sage eBooks IWU login required. Usable by IWU students, staff and faculty only.

A collection of academic ebooks with over 200 titles in health and social care. The titles may be viewed in their entirety online or downloaded one chapter at a time. Select "content available to me" in the right-hand panel to view only the books that are available at IWU.

 

 

 

 

Reference Books

 

You may ask, "Why would I use an encyclopedia or reference book for my research?".

  • Help you get ideas about how to narrow or search for your topic.
  • You'll find keywords and related topics for your search strategy.
  • You might even create an initial outline. 
  • Reference articles usually offer additional resources in a bibliography you can use to track down more information.

 

 

Links with a IWU Logo require an IWU login.

 

Credo Reference IWU login required. Usable by IWU students, staff and faculty only.

Credo Reference offers hundreds of full-text reference books across all academic disciplines, including sociology and social work. Search for your topic to discover articles, or browse the area of "social science" to view the available reference books in your interest area. 

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library IWU login required. Usable by IWU students, staff and faculty only.

Gale Virtual Reference Library provides thousands of full-text articles in various areas of social work, such as culture, crime, gender, religion, and juvenile studies. Search all reference books using the box at the top of the screen, or click on a subject area in order to search only the books in that area.

 

 

ARTICLES & DATABASES

 


OCLS Databases

OCLS QUICKsearch & Journal Titles Search

 

 

 


 

OCLS Databases

 

Each database has unique journals and articles. For a complete list of databases that are available through OCLS, visit OCLS Article Databases page or select More from the box below. 

 

As you search the databases, if the full text option is missing, look for Check Online Availability or Check Full Text Finder for Full Text to see whether it is available in another database or in print at the library. 

 

 

RESEARCH BY SUBJECT

Start your research with subject-specific databases or click More to see all databases.



Business

Education

General

Health Sciences

Nursing

More...

 

 

 

 

OCLS QUICKsearch & Journal Titles Search

 

Not sure where to start with your research?

Try OCLS QUICKsearch.

It is like Google for OCLS and searches most of our databases with one easy search! 

 

Are you looking for a specific article?

If you know the journal or magazine the article is in, you can use the Journal Titles Search to see if OCLS has access to the journal or magazine. 

 

Both QUICKsearch and the Journal Titles search can be found on the OCLS homepage in the search box area or try them below. 

Try QUICKsearch or the Journal Titles Search by typing your search below. The search will pop up in a new window.

 

NEED MORE IDEAS?

 


Reference Books

Research Question

Idea Generator

 

 

 


 

Reference Books

 

Reference Books can help you coming up with a topic and narrowing your topic.

See the Finding Books tab of this guide for more information on how to find Reference Books.

 

 

 

Research Question

 

Questions require answers.

A topic is too broad to cover thoroughly, but a question has an answer. 

 

Good research explores a question without an easy answer. 

Narrowing a topic to a primary question will get your research off to the right start.  

See the What is Research? tab of this guide for more information on formulating a research question. 

 

 

 

Idea Generator

 

The Idea Generator is from Old Dominion University. 

This guide has an informative video on picking your topic and topics organized by subject. 

Take a look at the guide to get your gears moving, but remember to formulate a research question after you have decided on a topic.    

 

 

 

 

APA STYLE & GRAMMAR HELP

 


Academic Writer

APA Style

Grammarly

 

 

 


 

Academic Writer 

 

Academic Writer is the official APA writing platform. You can concentrate on writing the content of your paper and Academic Writer automatically formats your papers in APA Style format. 

Visit the Academic Writer Guide for on-demand tutorials to help you sign up and get started! 

 

 

 

 

APA Style

 

Your program requires you to use APA Style 7th Edition. 

Visit the APA Style Guide for the APA 7th Edition Paper Template and the OCLS APA 7e Guide! 

 

 

 

Grammarly 

 

Grammarly with Premium features is available to IWU students for free. There are specific steps to sign up or you will be charged a fee.

Visit the Grammarly Guide to learn how to sign up and how to use Grammarly to check your papers for grammar and spelling errors. 

 

 

 

CHICAGO MANUAL OF STYLE

 


 

 


OCLS & RESEARCH HELP

 


 

Introduction to OCLS

Research Help

 

 

 


 

Introduction to OCLS

(2:03)    

This video is a brief introduction to IWU Off Campus Library Services.

 

 

 

 

Research Help

 

Do you need help with a specific research topic?  Contact Off Campus Library Services and request a Personalized Search Plan!

 

Personalized Search Plans (PSPs) tell you where to go, what to do, and how to do it. Your PSP will suggest the best online database(s) and search term(s) to use. Depending on what kinds of information you need, your PSP might help you to find appropriate print books, e-books, or journal articles.


Each PSP includes step-by-step directions to find trusted sources for your assignments and customized to your needs.


To request your Personalized Search Plan, email OCLS at ocls@indwes.edu or submit Online Request Form. In the form, let OCLS know what kinds of information you need – books, e-books, journal articles, websites, or peer-reviewed or research-based information.

 

PSP requests are answered within one (1) business daynot including weekends. Requests that are received by noon on Friday will be answered that same day.  

 

OCLS provides limited service on Saturday and is closed Sunday and all university holidays and holiday weekends, so we encourage you to ask for your Personalized Search Plan early in your workshop weeks whenever possible.


Hours 
Mon-Thur: 8:00 am - 8:00 pm (ET)
Friday: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm (ET)
Saturday: 9:30 am - 2:00 pm (ET)
Sunday: Closed


Librarians may not be available all open hours, but will answer ASAP.

 

 

1-800-521-1848

 

 ocls.indwes.edu