Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OCLS Tutorials: Nursing

 

 


undefined

 

 

 

NURSING DATABASES

 


 

Click the Back to Top arrows  on the right side of the page to return to this menu. 

Videos with the   icon have Closed Captioning.

Videos with the  icon have a transcript. Click the icon to view. 

 

Introduction to OCLS for Nursing Students

Nursing OCLS Introduction

Finding Nursing Books in the Library Catalog

Introduction to CINAHL

Introduction to ProQuest Nursing & Health Source

Introduction to MEDLINE, ERIC, and Dissertations & Theses

Accessing UpToDate and Lexicomp

UpToDate Troubleshooting

 

 


 

 

 

Introduction to OCLS for Nursing Students

OCLS Orientation 1 of 6

(9:58) 

This video gives nursing students an introduction to IWU Off Campus Library Services. 

 

 

Nursing OCLS Introduction

OCLS Orientation 2 of 6

These slides walk you through an introduction of the OCLS homepage, OCLS services, and Boolean searching. 

Click the title to open the slides. 

 

 

Finding Nursing Books in the Library Catalog

OCLS Orientation 3 of 6

 

These slides walk you through searching for nursing books in the IWU library catalog. Walkthrough of keyword and subject searching, and requesting library items. 

Click the title to open the slides.   

 

 

Introduction to CINAHL

OCLS Orientation 4 of 6

These slides walk you through an introduction to the CINAHL database, CINAHL Subject Headings, limiting your search results, finding articles in full text, and using the Journal Titles search.

Click the title to open the slides. 

 

 

Introduction to ProQuest Nursing & Health Source

OCLS Orientation 5 of 6

These slides walk you through an introduction to the ProQuest Nursing and Health Source databases, subject headings, limiting your search results, and finding articles in full text.

Click the title to open the slides. 

 

 

Introduction to MEDLINE, ERIC, and Dissertations & Theses

OCLS Orientation 6 of 6

These slides walk you through an introduction to the MEDLINE Complete, ERIC, and Dissertations & Theses databases, searching, subject headings, limiting your search results, and finding articles in full text, and ends with an OCLS Orientation review. 

Click the title to open the slides. 

 

 

Accessing UpToDate and Lexicomp

April 2020

(2:22) 

This short video shows you how to login to UpToDate via the myIWU portal and access Lexicomp.

OCLS limits access to UpToDate to IWU graduate nursing students and full-time faculty.

 

 

UpToDate Troubleshooting

January 2020

(1:55) 

This short video provides basic troubleshooting tips to access the UpToDate database.

OCLS limits access to UpToDate to IWU graduate nursing students and full-time faculty.

 

 


Hours 
Mon-Thur: 8:00 am - 8:00 pm (ET)
Friday: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm (ET)
Saturday: 9:30 am - 2:00 pm (ET)
Sunday: Closed


Librarians may not be available all open hours, but will answer ASAP.

 

 

1-800-521-1848

 

 ocls.indwes.edu